New Special Prize To Be Awarded at Maryland History Day State Competition April 27


The Maryland Humanities Council is pleased to announce a new opportunity for students competing in the Maryland History Day state contest on Saturday, April 27. Middle and high school students from across the state will present their projects to a panel of expert judges for a chance to qualify for the national level of competition as well as earn one of 18 Special Prizes.


The newest Special Prize is the Naval Order of the United States Prize, sponsored by the Naval Order of the United States, National Capital Commandery.  The award is given to an outstanding entry in any category dealing with naval or maritime history, either U.S. or International, to include that of the United Sates Navy, United States Coast Guard, United States Marine Corps, United States Public Health Service, National Oceanographic and Atmospheric Administration or United States Merchant Marine.


Recipients of special prizes receive a cash award and a plaque, and in some cases, award winners are invited to showcase their projects at special events and in museum and community settings. Awards are determined by a Special Prize Committee, based on nominations made by judges as they review entries in both junior and senior divisions and in all categories.


Maryland History Day, coordinated since 1999 by MHC, is an engaging, year-long educational program in which students showcase their research through interpretive papers, dramatic performances, historical exhibits, multi-media documentaries and websites.  Over 18,000 middle and high school students from 15 counties and Baltimore City participate in the History Day program.  Maryland History Day is open to Maryland public, private, parochial and homeschool students in grades 6 through 12.


The 2013 Maryland History Day state competition will take place Saturday, April 27, 2013 at the University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC), and will involve over 600 students and 150 judges from throughout the state. Support for Maryland History Day is provided by the State of Maryland through the Maryland State Department of Education and the National Endowment for the Humanities.  MHC is a statewide, educational, 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization that uses the humanities to stimulate and promote informed dialogue and civic engagement on issues critical to Marylanders.


Details about Special Prizes can be found on the Maryland History Day section at

  • African American History – sponsored by the Maryland Commission on African American History and Culture. For more information, see
  • Award for Excellence in Civic Action and Engagement – sponsored by the Maryland Council for the Social Studies.
  • Barry A. Lanman Award for Oral History Excellence – sponsored by the Martha Ross Center for Oral History, University of Maryland Baltimore County. For more information, see
  • Emily Hoffman Award for Outstanding Documentary – sponsored by Amy Plummer and Kenneth Hoffman.
  • Ethical Issues in History – sponsored by the Hoffberger Center for Professional Ethics, University of Baltimore. For more information, see
  • Historic Preservation – sponsored by the Maryland Historical Trust. For more information, see
  • Labor History – sponsored by the Community College of Baltimore County Labor Studies Program. For more information, see
  • Legal and Constitutional History – sponsored by Paul Mogin, Esquire, of Williams & Connolly LLP, Washington, DC.
  • Maryland History – sponsored by the Maryland Historical Society. For more information, see
  • Michael E. Patten Memorial History Award for the Best Use of Primary Sources – sponsored by Margery Patten.
  • Military History – sponsored by the Historical Miniatures Gaming Society. For more information, see
  • Milton Zaslow Award in Cryptology – sponsored by the National Cryptologic Museum Foundation. For more information, see
  • Naval Order of the United States Prize (new!) – sponsored by the Naval Order of the United States, National Capital Commandery.
  • Peace Study Center Prize – sponsored by the Peace Study Center, Baltimore
  • Award for Religious Freedom – sponsored by Rev. Florence L. Ledyard, Rector, St. Bartholomew’s Episcopal Church.
  • History of Science and Technology – sponsored by the Human Context of Science and Technology Program at the University of Maryland, Baltimore County.
  • Senator Thomas V. “Mike” Miller, Jr. Award for Excellence in Government History

Women’s History – sponsored by the History Department at the University of Maryland, Baltimore County.

Write a Letter to the Editor on this Article

We encourage readers to offer their point of view on this article by submitting the following form. Editing is sometimes necessary and is done at the discretion of the editorial staff.